my question: wasn't that the right call? isn't offsides defined as the last TWO defenders? not one? People always forget about the goalie. but since the goalie ran to punch the ball away, there was only 1 defender behind the mexican who scored. this means he was offsides, right? or did i play soccer for 20 years and not know the most common rule?
Friday, June 11, 2010
world cup question
ok so this question pertains to game 1 - mexico vs south africa. i was watching on dvr and mexico had a corner kick. the kick went to about the pk mark and the goalie came out to punch it away. instead, a mexican guy headed it before the keeper could get to it. the ball then went directly to another mexican guy who just tapped it in. however, the goal didn't count b/c they called him offsides. the commentator was saying that it was a horrible call b/c there was a south african defender on the goal line, which there was.